Get in touch

Get in touch

View navigation

Professional Development


Up And Coming Professional Training and Accredited Courses

Format Date/Time Venue Lead People More Details and How to Book

NQT Programme 2019/2020


The cost of the complete programme is £375 (members) £450 (non-members)

Our NQT programme has been developed in collaboration with our colleagues across the North Yorkshire Primary Teaching School Alliances. Written and developed by Local Leaders of Education within our schools, this programme aims to support the NQTs and guide them as they steer their way through the huge learning curve that their first year in the profession will prove to be.

  • Monday 16th September 2019 4.00pm - 6.00pm
  • Monday 11th November 2019 9.30am - 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 22nd January 2020 1.00pm - 4.00pm
  • Thursday 26th March 2020 1.00pm -4.00pm
  • Tuesday 9th June 2020 9.30am - 3.30pm
Newby and Scalby Primary School
  • Shaun Hopper (Deputy Headteacher at Northstead Community Primary School & Specialist Leader of Education Network Lead)
  • Katy Hopper (Teacher at Newby & Scalby Primary School and Chartered College of Teaching Early Career Teacher coach)
  • Claire Head (Scarborough Teaching Alliance ITT Programme Director)

Appraisal Training 


Cost £65 Members

(£85 Non-Members)

This bespoke 1/2 day training will help delegates understand the statutory and contractual position including pay recommendations; linking to school priorities; developing ways of engaging staff; preparing for the appraisal and objective setting. Aimed at head teachers, school business managers and senior leaders. 

  • Thursday 26th September 2019
  • 1.00pm - 3.30pm
Newby and Scalby Primary School
  • Susan McGinn

Heritage Schools - CPD Event 


Free

You are invited to a DfE funded teachers half day CPD event to support curriculum design incorporating school context, locality and the areas rich heritage

  • Friday 27th September 2019 12.30 - 4.00pm
Woodend Art Gallery, The Crescent, Scarborough, YO11 2PW
  • Julie Edwards

Secondary Early Career Teacher (ECT) Programme


Free for Opportunity Area Schools

Top Tips for Teaching: Helpful Workshops for NQTs/RQTS

 

  • Thursday 3rd October 2019 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 17th October 2019 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 17th November 2019 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 21st November 2019 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 5th December 2019 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 9th January 2020 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 23rd January 2020 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 6th February 2020 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 27th February 2020 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 12th March 2020 4.00pm - 5.30pm
  • Thursday 26th March 2020 - 4.00pm - 5.30pm 
Scalby School
  • Hayley Pegg and Sharon Mallison

Training for School Governors


£45 member schools (£50 non-members)

We are pleased to be able to offer training for school governors delivered by Carnegie Leaders in Learning.
This focused workshop will provide you, as a new governor or trustee, with the knowledge and skills you will need to be an effective member and contributor to the work of your board.

  • Thursday 24th October 2019 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Newby and Scalby Primary School 
  • Carnegie Leaders in Learning 

New HLTA - Development and Assessment Route 


Cost £1100

This programme prepares candidates to be assessed against the national HLTA standards, leading to the award of HLTA status. It is intended for teaching assistants who wish to further develop their teaching skills before being assessed for HLTA status.

  • Tuesday 3rd December 2019 2.00pm - 3.00pm
  • Tuesday 14th January 2020 - 9.30am - 3.00pm
  • Tuesday 11th February 2020 - 9.30am - 3.00pm
  • Tuesday 10th March 2020 - 9.30am - 3.00pm
  • Tuesday 24th March 2020 - 1.30pm - 3.30pm
  • Tuesday 28th April 2020 - 9.30am - 3.00pm
Newby and Scalby Primary School 
  • Rebecca McGuinness